Governing Body of Little Sutton School

The Governing Board was re-constituted under the 2012 School Governance Regulations in May 2013 following the creation of a co-operative with other local schools.

At the end of the school year 2017/18, the Governing Board incorporates:

  • 2 staff governors (including the Headteacher)
  • 2 foundation governors
  • 3 elected parent governors
  • 1 Local Authority governor
  • 6 Co-opted governors

Co-opted governors are appointed by the Governing Board and are people who, in the opinion of the governing board, have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school: one of the Co-opted governors is a staff member, three are members of the local community and two are vacancies. One of the foundation governor positions is also a vacancy.

The full Governing Board meets once each term and also has an interim meeting once each term where a shortened agenda is used to enable greater discussion and debate.

The following committees meet at least once per term – Buildings and Finance, People, Standards & Achievement and Communications. From September 2017, the Communications working party has changed and now focusses on the school infrastructure and has been renamed “Buildings” as a working party with devolved authority from the Finance committee.

There are also governors with designated responsibilities who act on behalf of the full governing board but with particular knowledge or expertise for Safeguarding, Special Educational Needs, Religious Education, Collective Worship, Health & Safety and Looked After Children.

For the Full Governors Annual Statement please click here.